Elizabeth Murphy 3 Book Set

Elizabeth Murphy 3 Book Set

SKU11238_OP_allop_9780747231929

Elizabeth Murphy


3 Books


The Liverpool Sagas

In order

New Paperbacks

Included

The Land is Bright

To Give and Take

There is a Season


Details

The captivating first instalment of The Liverpool Sagas, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Pam Howes

Life changes for the Palin children when Mam dies, and it s up to twelve-year-old Sally to try and take her place. Sally lavishes all her hopes and dreams on her baby sister Emily, determined that she ll leave the mean streets of their Liverpool and enjoy a better life. When Emily is sent to live with rich relatives, it seems like her wish has come true, but the chance is bittersweet.

Sally and her family may face poverty and hardship in Liverpool, but the warmth and love shared will help them overcome whatever the world has to throw at them; Emily, however, wanting for nothing, might find out that happiness is harder to find...

Full of authentic details of Liverpool life at the turn of the century, The Land is Bright is a totally absorbing saga perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Helen Forrester.

When David Child, a major client of a corrupt New York law firm, is arrested for murder, the FBI ask con artist-turned-lawyer Eddie Flynn to persuade him to testify against the firm.

Can both sisters find happiness, when one marries for love, and the other for money...

Sisters Mary and Cathy Ward couldn t be more different: Fiercely independent Mary is determined to leave the mean streets of Liverpool, whereas Cathy quiet and well loved is happy with the life she has.

But when both girls fall for the same man conflict threatens to push them apart, and as they are caught up in their own troubles, Liverpool erupts in the Bloody Sunday riots.

The final instalment of the breathtaking Liverpool Sagas, perfect for fans of Helen Forrester and Pam Howes

Cathy is glad to have her husband back now The Great War is over, but her son John is not so sure. Struggling to keep the peace, Cathy has her work cut out for her, as the pair seem unable to see eye-to-eye.

Surviving with four children on Greg s meagre wages is hard enough without their rows, but with the help of her parents and loyal friends in their close-knit Liverpool community, Cathy can keep a smile on her face.

When sister Mary comes back into her life, her heart is filled with hope. And she ll need it in order to survive the Depression, with the storm clouds of war gathering once more on the horizon...


New paperback books published by Canelo

Book Dimensions:20cm x 13 cm


Elizabeth Murphy was an author of Liverpool family sagas, praised for their heartwarming portrayal of early 20th century Liverpool and their 'good old-fashioned Northern common sense'. She was born in Liverpool and lived in Merseyside all of her life. When she was twelve, her father gave her a sixpenny book from a secondhand book stall, Liverpool Table Talk One Hundred Years Ago, which led to her lifelong interest in Liverpool's history. Her stories follow young women from working class families overcoming hardship and finding happiness in the face of adversity. 


£0.00
£10.04
You will earn 0 Reward points

QTY

Want to be notified when this product is back in stock? Complete the form below and we'll send you an email when it is.

Recommend to a friend

Enter your friend’s email address and a short message below and we’ll send them an email about this product.